Thursday, February 26, 2015

Greetings from our Program Director Dorte!




Hello Nordics, My name is Dorte Ellegaard Strobel and I am so excited to be a part of our Cultural Care Au Pair team here in the United States.  

Let me share with a little bit about myself. I was born and raised in Denmark. I grew up in a great family in a very small country town. When I was 24 years old (after I attended Odense University, where I  received  my degree in Business) I decided I wanted to be an AU PAIR!

I came to the USA in 1991 as an au pair and had a wonderful year with my host family and four children (yes four children!) age 2, 10 11 and 13! It was a wonderful family and we are still in contact. During my au pair year, I met my husband which made my mom and dad very sad. After dating for 6 months my year was over and I returned back to Denmark. I stayed in Denmark for 8 months, but in 1993 made the move to the USA.   Ron and I have now been married for 21 years, and we live outside Chicago, Illinois.

We are blessed with two wonderful boys, Karsten (18) and Torben (11), Karsten is graduating High school this  year, he has a dream of attending University in Denmark (that made a moms heart very proud!).

I became involved with Cultural Care Au Pair in 1994 as a LCC and simply just loved interacting with both au pairs and host families. I have meet so many great people during the years. After over 12 years as an LCC, I was asked to join Cultural Care Au Pair full time, first I joined the placement team in where I did both transitions and overseas matching. A few years later I was promoted to a Program Director.

Anyone that knows me, knows that I  take great pride in my association with Cultural Care Au Pair, a company with high values and dedication to providing great personal service. I believe our program is an excellent opportunity for both the Host Family and the Au Pair.

Being an au pair is one of the best things I ever did, and I think I am a clear example of  cultural exchange building long term relationships :)

Best,
Dorte